Governing Body

Governor Category Term of Office Role/Committee MembershipStructure and responsibility Business Interests  Finance Interests Relationships with school staff Governor roles at other schools Meeting Attendance
Mr Adrian Ramsden Foundation Governor 01/08/2015-31/08/2018 Chair of Governors/Resources /Admissions/Pay/HT Performance Appraisal/Science Link Governor None None None None /6
Recently retired, Adrian worked in his professional life as the European Manager of an International Meat Company and he is a Freeman of the City of London. He has been a Foundation & LEA Governor in a number of schools for the last 35 years.  As Chair of St Joseph’s Governing Body, he takes considerable interest in the running of the school and is a member of the Resources and School Improvement Committees.  Adrian is married with two daughters and three grandchildren.
Mr Peter Graham Foundation Governor 01/09/2014-31/08/2018 Vice Chair of Governors/Chair of Resources /Admissions/Pay/Complaints/HT Performance Appraisal/Maths Link Governor/ Governor Training/ Pupil Premium and Health & Safety None None None None /6
Peter Graham is a retired senior civil servant and has been a foundation governor at St Joseph’s since 2006. He has been of Chair of the Resources Committee since 2010 and Vice Chair of Governors and Pupil Premium Governor for the past three years. Peter takes considerable interest in all the financial, HR, building and other practical aspects of running the school. He also has considerable interest in the science and maths curriculums and for the past three years has tutored small groups of Yr 6 pupils who were taking Level 6 Maths.
Mrs Linda Payne Head 01/09/2009 – Headteacher Staff Staff Sister-in-law to staff member None /6
Headteacher since 2006.  Linda Payne is also a LLE.
Mrs Martina Sandham Foundation Governor 01/08/2017-31/08/2019 Resources /Admissions/Pay/Discipline/Staff Discipline/Complaints/HT Performance Appraisal None None None None /6
Martina has been a Foundation Governor at St Josephs for the past 11 years and Chair of the Admissions Committee, member of the Resources, Pay, Discipline and Grievances Committees. She was previously a Foundation Governor for 14 years at a Primary School in St Albans.  Before retiring, she was an Administrative Officer in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor at the University of Hertfordshire for over 25 years where her duties included Registration, Admissions, Policy & Procedures and Awards ceremonies.  Martina has 3 grown-up children who attended Catholic Primary and Secondary schools in Hertfordshire and 3 grandchildren.
Mr Gregory Wilkinson Foundation Governor 01/09/2014-30/08/2018 Resources /Pay/Discipline/Staff Discipline/ComplaintsPE Link Governor Parent Parent Spouse to Herts Catering staff member None /6
Gregory has a strong public service background with over 20 years’ experience in the emergency services both in Ireland and England. He moved to England in 2000 and then to South Oxhey in 2004 where he established solid community ties which he continues to enjoy today. Gregory is married with 2 children, Kayleigh, an ex-pupil and Dylan a current pupil of St Joseph’s. Gregory enjoys writing short stories and is currently in the process of having several of them published and brought together as a book. He has been a Governor at St. Joseph’s since 2010 and enjoys been fully involved, getting to know the staff and pupils whilst helping out and bringing his experience to the various committees that he is part of in the school.
Revd Stephen Hewitt Foundation Governor 03/02/2016 -31/08/2019 Parish Priest/School Improvement/ Re & PFL Governor None None None None /6
Father Stephen joined our parish in September 2012. He is the priest administrator ordained in Australia for the Brisbane Arch Diocese and has been living in the UK since 2015. He has served in the parishes of Covent Garden, Ruislip, Cranford and began his tenure in Carpenders Park 7 years ago.
Mr Giovanni Marseglia Foundation Governor 01/09/2017-31/08/2021 School Improvement /Discipline/Music Link Governor None None None Governor at Sacred Heart School /6
Giovanni became a Foundation Governor at St Joseph’s three years ago.  Having been a secondary school teacher for most of his working life, seeing children progress through the education system is very dear to him.  As a music graduate, his interests extend into the broader community, mainly through parish and diocesan work.  At present, his is organist at the parish of the Sacred Heart and St John the Evangelist and musical director to the Westminster diocesan pilgrimage to Lourdes.  Giovanni is a member of the school improvement committee.
Mrs Katrina Copsey LEA Governor 10/12/2014-09/12/2018 School Improvement / Admissions/Staff Discipline/Computing/ Safeguarding & Child Protection Governor Parent Parent None None /6
Trina joined the Governing Body as a Parent Governor in 2010 and then became LEA Governor.  She is in her second term as a Governor here at St Joseph’s. She is the Accounts Manager at Merchant Taylors’ School.  She herself was a pupil at St Josephs and currently has a daughter in the school; her son has since left and started secondary school.  She also sits on our School Improvements and Admissions Committees.
Miss Jenny Winterman Staff Governor 01/09/2014-31/08/2018 School Improvement Staff Staff None /6
Jenny is the school Deputy Head and currently teaches Year 6.
Mrs Dawn Tannian Co –opted   Governor 01/09/2014-30/08/2018 Chair of School Improvement Staff Staff None /6
Dawn initially joined the Governing Body as a Parent Governor. After her son left the school, she became a co-opted member of the board. Dawn works in the school office and teaches music throughout the school. She currently chairs the School Improvement Committee.
 Mrs Kerry O’Brien Parent Governor  School Improvement None None None /6
 Kerry has two children at the school. She is an avid PTA member attending and helping out at all events. She is a PA to the CEO of a large company and has worked there for twenty years.
Mr Jerry Baker Foundation Governor 19/03/2015-18/03/2019 Resources /Discipline/ Staff Discipline/ Art & DT Link Governor None None None /6
 Jerry has lived in South Oxhey for 14 years . He has two children. Jerry became a Catholic in 2016 and have worked as an Area Sales Manager for over 15 years for the best bed brands in the UK . He enjoys being involved with the school getting to know the pupils and teachers and helping out with the various events that take place at the school. Jerry is a committed member of the Parent Teacher Association.
Mrs Alex Walsh Parent Governor  School Improvement None None None /6
 Alex has two children at the school. She has worked in a government department for the last fifteen years.
Mr Ross Taylor Associate Governor (No voting rights)  Resources None None None /6
 Ross has two children at the school and is a Food Technology teacher at a local SEMH secondary school.

The Chair of Governors, Adrian Ramsden, can be contacted via the school office on 0208 428 5371 or by emailing the following address: The structure of the Governing Body is as follows:

  • Full Board,
  • School Improvement Committee
  • Resources Committee

Sub Committees:

  • Admissions
  • Pay
  • Discipline
  • Complaints
  • Staff Disciplinary Appeals
  • Head Teacher’s Performance Appraisal